Annual Meeting of the Boards 2010

Home Boards Annual Meeting 2010

Annual Meeting of the Boards 2010

Members of the Econ Illinois Governing Board and Board of Trustees gathered at the Union League Club of Chicago on October 26th for their annual meeting.

Governing Board Chair Joe Guinan began the meeting, which included a review of the budgets and the financial reports as well as special reports on new initiatives. Econ Illinois President Joanne Dempsey gave an overview of challenges and opportunities, and introduced Board members for special reports. Those initiatives were reported on by Trustee Cynthia Lau (60th Anniversary/National Conference committee); Governing Board member Janet Angstadt (goals for the 2011 American Dream dinner event); and Trustee Gene Marcowka, (new SMG Corporate Challenge, a fundraiser in which companies can sponsor a team of employees to participate in a corporate challenge of The Stock Market Game™).

The meeting concluded with the passing of the gavel as Joe Guinan ended his term as Governing Board Chair and introduced Pamela Piarowski, new Chair of the Governing Board for FY11 and FY12.

The Boards voted on the ballot of new and renewing Board members, and honored board members for their years of service.

Calvin Butler and Cynthia Lau were elected to new terms on the Board of Trustees

New candidates, class of 2013

The following individuals were elected to new terms on the Board of Trustees.

  • Calvin Butler, ComEd
  • Jeffrey Egan, HSBC Global Asset Mgmt.
  • Dr. Paul Ellinger, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  • John M. Geiringer, Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP
  • Cynthia Lau, Cabrera Capital Markets, LLC


Board Recognition

The following continuing Board members were recognized for their years of service to Econ Illinois.

Governing Board

  • Alger “Duke” Chapman – 15 years
  • Scott Gordon – 10 years
  • Michael Moskow – 15 years
  • Donald Petkus – 15 years
  • Larry Richman – 15 years

Frank Whittaker and David Kohn are recognized for years of service.Board of Trustees

  • Frank Whittaker - 30 years
  • Carl Gargula – 10 years
  • David Kohn – 5 years

In addition, the following board members, whose terms have ended, were recognized for their service to Econ Illinois:

  • Representative Edward Acevedo
  • Patrick Dorsey
  • The Honorable Jesse White